Wishnok Prize

Photo of Pete Wishnok, addressing BATS attendees.

The Wishnok Prize

The Wishnok Prize for the Bioengineering and Toxicology Seminar (BATS) was established by the Department of Biological Engineering in 2015 in honor of Pete Wishnok, who led BATS for over three decades. The Wishnok Prize is awarded for the best talks in the Fall and Spring Semesters.

Wishnok Prize Winners


3rd Year Students 2020-2021 (awarded April 20, 2021)

        photo of Cal Gunnarsson, Blake Lash, and Jacqueline Valeri                             








Spring 2020 (awarded November 18, 2020)









Fall 2019 (awarded December 20, 2019)

  • Winner: Corban Swain, Laboratory of Ed Boyden
  • Runner-up: Brooke Huisman, Laboratory of Michael Birnbaum
  • Honorable Mentions: Atti English, Laboratory of Jim Collins
  •                                      Josh Peters, Laboratories of Bryan Bryson and Paul Blainey









Spring 2019 (awarded October 15, 2019)

  • Winner: Noor Momin, Laboratory of Dane Wittrup
  • Runner-up: Lauren Stopfer, Laboratories of Forest White and Doug Lauffenburger 
  • Honorable Mentions: Lauren Milling, Laboratory of Darrell Irvine
  •                                      Jared Kehe, Laboratory of Paul Blainey


Fall 2018 (awarded October 15, 2019)


Spring 2018 (awarded October 9, 2018)

  • Winner: Manu Kumar, Laboratory of Doug Lauffenburger
  • Runner-up: Linyi Gao, Laboratory of Feng Zang
  • Honorable Mentions: Shelby Doyle, Laboratory of Angela Koehler
  •                                      Malvika Verma, Laboratory of Robert S. Langer


Fall 2017 (awarded October 9, 2018)

  • Winner: Robert Wilson, Laboratory of Angela Koehler 
  • Runner-up: Noor Momin, Laboratory of K. Dane Wittrup
  • Honorable Mentions: Jared Kehe, Laboratories of Paul Blainey and Pardis Sabeti
  •                                      Lauren Milling, Laboratory of Darrell Irvine


Spring 2017 (awarded October 10, 2017)


    Fall 2016 (awarded February 17, 2017)

    • Winner: Linyi Gao, Laboratory of Feng Zhang    
    • Runner-up: Alison Tisdale, Laboratory of K. Dane Wittrup
    • Honorable Mention: Ally Huang, Laboratory of Ram Sasisekharan

    Gao, Tisdale, Huang



    Spring 2016 (awarded September 16, 2016)


    Fall 2015 (awarded Februrary 12, 2016)